nothing without pretend

I’m still mad at Wye Oak. Wye, you ask? Well, I had planned to see them back in March at The Earl, but the gig was cancelled at the last minute. The reason was forgivable…I guess. (Jenn was sick.) But I still wish I could have seen them on their only scheduled headlining date in Georgia this year. (The opening slots for Okkervil River and Explosions in the Sky, respectively, were surely great too.)

Their record Civilian is one of my favorites of 2011. I like to think of them as a folky My Bloody Valentine, but with only two members (Andy Stack on drums and keyboard simultaneously, and Jenn Wasner on guitar and gorgeous vocals), they have to work a lot harder to create that level of noise in the live setting. And they pull it off with a surprising amount of grace.

Listen for yourself.

[photo from]

Wye Oak – Live at the Rock Shop – Brooklyn, NY – 1/27/11

Download from

1. The Alter
2. That I Do
3. [banter]
4. My Neighbor
5. [banter 2]
6. [Emmylou – not posted]
7. My Creator
8. [banter 3]
9. Holy Holy
10. [banter 4]
11. Fish
12. [banter 5]
13. Civilian
14. [banter 6]
15. Hot as Day
16. I Hope You Die
17. [encore break]
18. If Children Were Wishes
19. For Prayer